Contact Social Services

Susan Chaney
Social Services
P.O. Box 107 / 103 Charles Street
Hertford, NC 27944
(252)426-7373
Fax: (252)426-1240

Latest Events

Mon Dec 17 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Work Session
Thu Dec 20 @ 5:30PM -
Social Services Board Meeting
Fri Dec 21 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
Library Closing Early
Mon Dec 24
County Offices Closed
Tue Dec 25
County Offices Closed
Wed Dec 26
County Offices Closed
Mon Dec 31 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Library Closed
Tue Jan 01
County Offices Closed - New Years' Holiday
Mon Jan 07 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Regular Meeting
Tue Jan 08 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting
Programs and Services

Child and Family Social Work Services

  • Protective Services (abuse, neglect, and dependency)
  • Family Preservation and Support Services
  • Foster Care
  • Placement Services for Children
  • Adoption Services
  • Recruitment and licensing of Family Foster Homes
  • Independent Living Program for Foster Children (NC LINKS)
  • Interstate Compact

Adult Social Work Services

  • Protective Services (abuse, neglect, and exploitation)
  • Guardianship Services
  • Adult Placement Services
  • In-Home Aide Services
  • Monitoring of Group Home Facilities
  • Services for the Blind
  • Adult and Family Health Support Services

Economic Services

  • Medical Coverage (Medicaid)
  • Special Assistance to Elderly and Disabled Adults
  • NC Health Choice
  • Work First Family Assistance
  • Work First Employment Services
  • Emergency Assistance
  • Child Day Care Subsidies
  • Low Income Energy Assistance
  • Crisis Intervention
  • Medical Transportation Services
  • Electronic Benefit Card (EBT) Food Stamps
  • Commodities

Additional Services

  • Fraud Investigation
  • Work Permits
  • Interpreting Services
  • Representative Payee Services