Contact the Tax Administrator

Bill Jennings
Tax Administrator
P.O. Box 7 / 107 N Front St.
Hertford, NC 27944
(252)426-7010
Fax: (252)426-3624

Latest Events

Tue Nov 13 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting - Cancelled
Thu Nov 15 @ 5:30PM -
Social Services Board Meeting
Mon Nov 19 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Work Session
Mon Dec 03 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Regular Meeting
Tue Dec 11 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @ 8:00AM -
Soil & Water Conservation Meeting
Mon Dec 17 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Work Session
Thu Dec 20 @ 5:30PM -
Social Services Board Meeting
Mon Jan 07 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Regular Meeting
Tue Jan 08 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting
Motor Vehicle Requirements

Vehicle taxes are billed annually and according to the vehicle's registration period. Tax notices are mailed approximately 3 months after a vehicle's registration is renewed or a vehicle is newly licensed. Taxes can be partially prorated if a vehicle is sold and the license plate is turned in to NCDMV, and one or more full months remain on the registration. You must show proof that the vehicle was sold and the plate was turned in. The assessed value of a vehicle is based on its retail value. The value may be appealed if done so prior to the bill becoming past due.

Vehicles taxes become due the 4th month after the vehicle has received a new registration or renewed its registration with DMV. Vehicle taxes must be paid in 30 days to avoid interest or penalties. The Tax Department will block the vehicle's registration with DMV if the taxes are not paid promptly. DMV will not send registration renewal cards to the owner of any vehicles that has a registration block. Registrations blocked for non-payment of taxes cannot be renewed until the taxes are paid.